Holiday and Harvest Time in Spain

Sitting comfortably on my sofa with a freshly brewed coffee in my favourite mug, I was reminiscing about my latest holiday in Spain…

…6 weeks ago today I arrived in Medina de Rioseco after a 2 night stay in Santander. This beautiful Cantabrian city located on the north coast of Spain welcomed me with glorious sunshine and perfect temperatures. So, I could happily start my desperately needed holiday.

Straight from airport to Santander El Sadinero

I explored the historic centre of Santander, strolled along the long promenade, feasted on good food which was washed down with cold beer. I also joined hundreds of people in their walks up and down the fine golden sandy shores of El Sardinero 1 and 2 (partly to burn off some of the excess calories). El Sardinero 1 and 2 are two long (combined total of 1,300 metres) and wide (80 metres) beaches and therefore great for exercising.

Joining hundreds in their walk along El Sardinero beach during morning hours.

Joining hundreds in their walk along El Sardinero beach during morning hours.

Then it was time to travel to Medina de Rioseco for a fortnight of peace and quiet. To escape the rising temperatures (35-38 celsius) I would rent a canoe and paddle along the calm and cool waters of the Canal de Castile.

This is where I forget my daily grind

This is where I forget my daily grind

And apart from reading some books and finishing my final essay of this year (yes, I am halfway through my MA!!!) most of my days were filled with walks or cycle routes along the canal and surrounding countryside. Or I’d just ramble with Lassie or Estrella (or both) alongside some barley, wheat and sunflower fields of Belmonte de Campos, …

walking in belmonte along the fields with estrella and lassie

… and get a ride in a harvester!! One of the many highlights of this year’s summer holiday in Spain. Usually I would miss the harvest period due to other commitments. So it was great to stand next to Prisciliano, who was in the driver’s seat. An experienced and ardent agriculturist ‘Pristi’ has been working the land for more than 60 years. He was the perfect ‘guide’ for my first harvester ride as he transmitted his lifelong passion for the land and you could sense how much fun he is still having working it.

Here comes the red beauty:

harvest machine

harvest machine

Prisciliano enjoying every minute of the harvest.

Prisciliano enjoying every minute of the harvest.

Faithful Estrella chose to walk along our harvester (and kept an eye on us) instead of staying behind with other family members, who waited next to some tractors and trailers. Estrella was overjoyed after we stepped down some 15 minutes later.

harvester_front_and_estrella

2 thoughts on “Holiday and Harvest Time in Spain

  1. Simone Stift

    Dear Gerda!
    Danke für Deine bildhaften Berichte. Mit Deinem tollen Englisch und Deiner Ausdrucksweise lädtst Du zum Mitfühlen und zum Schmunzeln ein.
    Danke.
    Ganz liebe Grüße.
    Simone

    Reply

Leave a Reply

