“Bad Pharma” by Ben Goldacre

Last night after finishing my lesson at 19.35 I chatted with a friendly Conway Hall staff, who informed about the event taking place at the Main Hall organised by Philosophy Now & Philosophy For All:

The George Ross Memorial Lecture given by author Lesley Chamberlain on ‘A Goethean in Postmodern London’

And the ‘Philosophy Now Award for Contributions in the Fight against Stupidity’  ceremony featuring award winner Ben Goldacre and Philosophy Now editor Rick Lewis, who described the purpose of the Award in this article in The Telegraph: ‘The world’s biggest problem is stupidity’.

I was VERY VERY VERY excited when I heard the words Bad Science, which is a book I really enjoyed reading a couple of years ago. And now, all of a sudden, I had the chance to hear its author, Ben Goldacre, give a short talk at Conway Hall!! What a fantastic coincidence!! I had plenty of time to purchase Ben’s new book “Bad Pharma”  and eat my sandwich before making myself comfortable on one of the seats at the balcony ready for some 40 minutes of informative and entertaining talk.

About the book (which I started to read last night on my train home) Sir Ian Chalmers, Founder of hte Cochrane Library: “This shocking book shows how peopple have suffered and died because the medical profession has allowed industry’s interests to trump patients interests”, and Dara O’Brian “Terrifying and true. You may never look at your medicine cabinet the same way again.”

Leave a Reply

